Writing Reflection 1

When my sister and I were younger, our family took a vacation to Mallorca, Spain.  Like all children who go on family vacations, we were extremely excited to be there and were beside ourselves.  We arrived at our hotel room and as the excitement grew my sister and I began chasing each other around the hotel room.  My sister, being younger than me was always the one who was chased.  As we were frantically running around this hotel room, my sister in a moment of near disaster ran right into a sliding glass door and broke through it.  As she fell to the ground, we were both in a state of shock.  I ran to her to see if she was ok.  Besides the fact that she had cut her leg in a few places and had some scratches, she was fine.  We took her the on call doctor at the hotel and got her fixed up and continued with our vacation. 

Now when my sister tells this story at family gatherings, it tends to be somewhat skewed from the events that I remember.  This is the way she tells it:  We were running through the hotel room extremely happy to be on this vacation.  As my sister was chasing me around the room, I ran right into a sliding glass door and shattered the door sending shards of glass, blood and pieces of my body across the patio.  There was so much blood that I nearly needed to have a tunicate applied.  The pain was unbearable and I almost passed out.  All the people from the hotel came to the room to see what had happened and when they arrived they all gasped from the sight they had seen.  I was carried to the emergency room and given 30 stitches, and I had to spend the rest of the vacation in discomfort and embarrassment.    

 

I realize that my sister’s version has more appeal to an audience, since it is more dramatic. Telling something exactly how it happened can be boring sometimes.

Leave a comment